RSS

Lukas Podolski scoop and a bit more..

30 Apr

Hello Gooners. While we wait with bated breath for tonight’s Manchester derby, news has just emerged from Germany that Lukas Podolski has confirmed his move to Arsenal.

This, taken from Arseblog News, that the German striker and his present club, FC Cologne, have released a joint statement. It says,

Hi folks, from next season I will play Arsenal FC. This change gives me the opportunity to play at international level in a top European club. This is a great opportunity in my sporting career.The decision for this step is not easy for me because the FC Köln, the city and the fans are very special for me. I’ll always carry FC in my heart. We must now concentrate all the forces together and focus exclusively on the league. Regards, Poldi.

This is certainly great news for us Arsenal fans, who have been waiting quite long for that one really experienced world class striker. No disrespect to Eduardo or Chamakh though. Eduardo was a fantastic striker for Dinamo Zagreb, but you could say a bit unproven at the top echelons of European football. Unfortunately for him, he got struck with a horrible injury, just when he was picking up the pace of the English game. Chamakh, despite a great start, has failed miserably to hold on to his place in the team, and much of it can be rather owed to the fine form of Robin van Persie. The less said about Niklas Bendtner, Emmanuel Adebayor, and Park-Chu-Young, the better.

I think Podolski will add a new dimension to our existing attacking array. He has chalked up 43 goals in 95 games for the national side. With Fiorentina and Bordeaux interested in Chamakh, I find it hard to see him at the club next year, and the same goes with Park. He may have delayed his military service, to prolong his football career, but he wouldn’t be happy warming benches for the Reserves, on cold nights in places like Barnet, Stevenage and Burton.

This leaves us with our on-loan strikers, Niklas Bendtner, who says he wouldn’t even join Sunderland if he got the chance to. I agree with him. He is the best striker in the world after all. We have Carlos Vela, once touted as the next big thing in Mexican football, before one Javier Hernandez came along. He has scored 10 goals for Basque club Real Soceidad, and they want to retain his services on a permanent basis. Vela was a bit of a question mark. At times, he would make you think you are watching Maradona, but then moments later, he would look like Nelson Vivas out of position. Joel Campbell, the Costa Rica international looks like one for the future, if he can get his visa and passport issues sorted.

Arsene Wenger and Israel captain Yossi Benayoun spoke about the over-reliance on Robin van Persie at the moment. While admitting that they have relied on the Dutchman, more than they should, this season, Wenger also urged him to finish the season on a high as we look to seal 3rd spot and automatic Champions League qualification, which helps us ease the fixture congestion at the very start of the season, as well as prevent us from even contemplating a possibility of playing in the Europa League.

He has to push us over the line. There are two games to go. We have been a bit over-reliant on him, I concede that. But it is difficult to change that before the end of the season.

Yossi Benayoun, compared the Dutch striker to his ex-teammate at Liverpool and later Chelsea, Fernando Torres. (Mind you, when he was in top form)

I have been lucky enough to play with some of the best strikers in the world,”he said. “Robin is one of the best in the world. It was the same when Fernando was on fire and scoring lots of goals at Liverpool. They are on the same level as two of the best strikers in the world.Every game at Liverpool we knew he could score. We know we must give Robin the ball in the right place and he will score. That is what we did against Stoke and he has been doing that all season.

In other news, Arsene Wenger is lining up his options for assistant manager, after Pat Rice revealed he would retire at the end of the season and probably spend his retirement days in Brighton, and enjoy the sun, while pondering over what has been a fine tenure at the club.

It will be decided very very soon and I will decide after that. It looks like he could stop, but it is not official yet. Pat is fantastic. He works every day hard and never speaks to the press – fantastic!

One man, who surely would love to take that position, is club legend Thierry Henry.

You know what? I might. Now do you think I would be a good one? You can never tell. I actually don’t know if that would be an option. I know I will be in the game for sure. Why not? Sure.Everyone knows the love I have for Arsenal Football Club, so you know it goes without saying where.

The King also spoke about his brief 2 months stint, when he scored 3 goals, 2 of which were match-winners.

That’s a dream.It was the first time – put the national team aside – it was the first time I scored a goal as a fan of the team [I scored for].It’s too much to describe. I know I’ve never felt that before.

Meanwhile, Arsene Wenger also spoke about the appaling behaviour of the Stoke fans on Saturday.

I don’t think you can be especially proud to boo Aaron Ramsey,because I don’t see what he has done wrong in his behaviour. That’s an old story where the fans of Stoke stand behind their player. But it shouldn’t go as far as booing Aaron Ramsey.They have a relationship with me but I don’t have one with them! They do enjoy my visits] but I personally have enough experience to cope with that.I focus on what I love in my job and the way my players behave on the pitch. I am not responsible for the way people behave in the stands. If you want to stop that it is easy to stop but I cannot influence it. I have had so much in England, I have been here for 15 years, and basically I don’t hear it because I am focused on the game.It doesn’t bother me too much. I don’t listen too much to what people chant and I just think one day people in football will have to tackle that as well. It is easy to sit in the stand and insult people – it is the easiest sport in the world.I believe that it was a game where we have shown great character, great battling qualities. Overall we deserved at least a point and I can only give credit to my players for their battling qualities and the way they responded to what Stoke offered us – full commitment, well-organised, direct. We did not always cope with it but today I felt we did.It is important to win our next two games.

That’s a wrap then. More to come soon on the Podolski story. Do not forget to read the preview of the Manchester Derby here.

Jai Arsenal 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Blast away your thoughts!

 
