RSS

Immediate van Persie Reaction (Shock)

04 Jul

So, it is official. Robin van Persie is not extending his contract with Arsenal.

I am short of words right now. Actually this is going to be the shortest blog post I ever make probably. This was completely unexpected. I get a text message from a friend out of nowhere saying that van Persie has announced on his site that he is leaving. My first reaction is that this is another of his rumours, but when I did log on to the internet, rather Facebook, my wall was filled with it. The harsh reality.

I can already see lots of Arsenal fans posting, or rather hurling abuses at RVP. Does he deserve it. I really don’t know. Like I said I really can’t contemplate the situation.

It has not been more than a couple of weeks since I got a van Persie jersey. And now, I am already pondering if I ever will wear it again. It is like the end of the world or something.

Now, I really don’t have the time nor the energy to go reading or writing about everyone’s views and abuses on the board and Gazidis and of course, Arsene Wenger.

I just have a few words for Robin van Persie.

All I have to say is, Robin, you lost most of the love I had for you. I used to sing your name during games, like an idiot, even if I was watching alone at home; my heart used to skip a beat, when you unleashed one of your left-footers, I used to scream at the top of my lungs when you scored. I used to be proud of you captaining my club.

That goal in 05/06 against Blackburn, the equalizer against Barcelona, the stunner in 07/08 against Bucharest, and of course each and every one of those 37 goals you scored last season.

Respect? I still don’t know about that. I still respect Fabregas.

But the love? I still love Vieira, Bergkamp, Pires, Henry. But, as for you, Robin, you may have just lost most of it.

I just have to ask you one thing. Which club or manager would have stood by you for so long, during those injuries? Not Mourinho. Surely not Ferguson. But, Arsenal and Arsene stood by you for 7 years. One awesome season later you want to leave, because the club are not ambitious enough?

You may have your reasons, but what about us? The fans who sang your name, literally worshiped you, and paid to watch you? Don’t we have any say in this?

I don’t want to make this sound as a rant, because I don’t hate the guy. But, that’s all I can muster for now.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2012 in General

 

21 responses to “Immediate van Persie Reaction (Shock)

  1. wenger

    July 4, 2012 at 11:23 PM

    not mad at vpersie…bt seriously arsenalfc isn’t ambitious enough..if anything, he just said what the fans want wenger to hear. we need to be more ambitious, spend more.

     
    • Zac

      July 5, 2012 at 12:16 AM

      agree 100% Arsenal FC, 2 seasons running sell there captain and world class player! who will it be next year?! its becoming a joke. you play football to win things not to get rich we are a business not a football club.

       
    • supreetkini

      July 5, 2012 at 11:47 AM

      I don’t think spending is the answer to all problems mate. If you think that is, then we have already made the signings this season, in Giroud and Podolski, and probably even a M’Vila! But I say again and again his decision to leave has bewildered for me!

       
  2. JACK KEARNEY

    July 4, 2012 at 11:24 PM

    BOO RVP

     
  3. Flavour

    July 4, 2012 at 11:26 PM

    No me they are not fans nor professionals so they are not loyal. Yes the club stood by him all those years and then it never occurred to him that Arsenal lacked ambition. This is not the end. RVP is not a great striker, he is created in the Arsenal DNA and may find it difficult else where like we also so in the Euros. Is his decision. Adebayor left and created a space for Robin to shine. Robin has to leave for the next hero and we have four I can verge for the coming season: Podoski, Giround, Givinho and Theo Walcourt. Up Gunners! People come and people go but Arsenal lives on.

     
    • Flavour

      July 4, 2012 at 11:27 PM

      I meant they are not fans but are professionals…..

       
    • supreetkini

      July 5, 2012 at 11:49 AM

      Right on, Flavour.
      Heroes come and go. Our passion is forever.

       
  4. chris lene

    July 4, 2012 at 11:26 PM

    let him go,the gods of soccer will catch up with him soon let him anothe six years of injuries maybe go on retirement because one injury to other

     
  5. Nitin Kini

    July 4, 2012 at 11:26 PM

    This whole situation leaves a bad taste in my mouth. It’s obvious RVP made his decision to leave at least a month ago if not earlier. If the signings of podolski and giroud do not show ambition, I don’t know what to say. If he ends up going to Man City he will undoubtedly regret the decision, not financially, but on a personal level. Arsenal fans worship(ped) him, something that City fans will fail to replicate.

     
    • supreetkini

      July 5, 2012 at 11:46 AM

      Yes you are right mate. I have lost a lot of my love for him. I think I love Fabregas more. His reason to leave was more proper.
      I would be gutted if he goes to Man City. Probably lose most of my respect for him. He will just be another money grabber in most people’s eyes!

       
  6. Naini

    July 4, 2012 at 11:27 PM

    Hmm…i’m short of words, may be God saved me bcoz i don’t like the guy that much, i respect and want him in the team but i love sagna more than him. As for his leaving its ok, he should go and fuck him self. C’mon giroud, podolski and park u got work 2 do, go blow shit off

     
  7. Teniford

    July 4, 2012 at 11:30 PM

    It’s true what the guy said.who could stand RVP that long?only one season makes him think he is great.if I were him I would remain at arsenal.why cant he be like berkamp who was given a good farewell?if he is going,all the best for him

     
  8. Fredrick

    July 4, 2012 at 11:49 PM

    Rethink van persin

     
  9. Agbaje Shola Emmanuel

    July 4, 2012 at 11:50 PM

    don’t mind him is on grateful human being that i ever seen in my life.let him go

     
  10. S

    July 5, 2012 at 12:05 AM

    If i could put down in words how i feel, you’re article would be it mate! Absolutely gutted :((((

     
  11. gunnermike 4ever

    July 5, 2012 at 12:16 AM

    I cannot believe RVP’s decision to leave, and the reason he has given. If signing two international players with the prospect of more to come is not ambition then I don’t know what is. Arsenal had paid him full wages for several years when he was only a bit player because of injuries. It was Arsenal that put faith in him when he was a tearaway, and this is how he repays us.
    We have lost bigger and better players in the past and are still going strong.
    I think he will live to regret his decision.

     
    • supreetkini

      July 5, 2012 at 11:43 AM

      I know mate, like many other players before him. Vieira was a nomad after leaving us, so was Flamini, Hleb etc who left in the absolute prime of their careers, but now are left in the lurch in terms of their footballing careers.

       
  12. MIKE

    July 5, 2012 at 1:01 AM

    If wenger and the managements buy good and quality player that will help RVP to win trophies, then he will stay. If the cannot then we should allow him to go for a serious club that really need trophy.
    It is never his fault to leave. If you follow matches and football well, you will notice that we have a lot of chaffs in the squad. Send them away and bring experienced players.
    People like Diaby,Djourou, Benthner, chamakh, denilson.alminiul,squilacy, ashervin jerkinson and many more, have to be sold and bring good players.
    Look at M’villa , we are loosing him again as we loose Eden Hazard. How can we compete with Man u man city and chelsea with this squad. We can only end up third as usual. The won the premier league trophy with 18 point margin. Now they are still in the market looking for good players to buy. That is being serious with club.
    Take it or leave but its true.

     
    • supreetkini

      July 5, 2012 at 11:42 AM

      Hi Mike,
      To some extent you are right. But I think van Persie owes the club a lot, for all the times we stood by his injury. And as about the transfer market I think we have started making the changes that were so long desired. Poor players are leaving, and we already have Podolski and Giroud are already in the bag. I don’t think van Persie’s reason for leaving is justified!

       
  13. footballnewscenter

    July 8, 2012 at 7:41 PM

    I think arsenal need to cash in on van persie and actually spend money to replace him, not replace him on the cheap.

     

Blast away your thoughts!

 
